Creating & Deleting Volumes from Snapshots

Creating a Volume from a Snapshot

If you have a set of data that you want to replicate to another volume you can easily create a snapshot and then create a new volume out of that snapshot.

  1. Log in to the dashboard, choose a project, and click Images & Snapshots.

  2. Select the checkbox for the volume snapshot you want to create a volume from.

  3. Click Create Volume.

  4. In the dialog box that opens, enter in all the information to create the volume. (Note: All required fields will be pre-filled with snapshot information).

  5. Click Create Volume.

Volume Name:

Specify a name for the volume.

Description:

Optionally, provide a brief description for the volume.

Type:

Pick the volume type.

Size (GB):

The size of the volume in gigabytes.

Volume Source:

This will be the snapshot source that you previously selected.

 

A message indicates whether the action was successful and you will be returned to the Volumes page where you can see the new volume.

Deleting a Volume Snapshot

When you delete a snapshot, the data is destroyed.

  1. Log in to the dashboard, choose a project, and click Images & Snapshots.

  2. Select the check boxes for the volume snapshots  that you want to delete.

  3. Click Delete Volume Snapshot  and confirm your choice.

 

A message indicates whether the action was successful.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk